Programs > Teens & Tweens

Programs

Selected teen programs require pre-registration. To register, visit the Information Desk, call 630/393-1171 x100, or click here to register online.

 

Monthly Contests
Grades 5 - 12
Enter to win a gift card by correctly identifying fictional characters from books, video games and TV shows. Stop by the Information Desk each month for an Entry Form and more details.

 

Teen Tech Week  
March 9-15
This year’s theme is DIY @ Your Library®. Teen Tech Week encourages teens to use libraries' non-print resources to explore, create and share content.

 

Super Smash Bros. Tournament
Fridays, 4:30 – 6 p.m., Ages 12-17
March 7, April 18, May 9
Challenge other gamers to Super Smash Bros. Brawl battles then stick around to play for fun. The tournament winner will receive a gift card. Registration is required. Click here to register.

 

Teen Anime Night: RWBY 
Monday, March 10, 5:30 – 7:30 p.m., Ages 13-18
A young hero, an exalted heiress, a troubled rogue and a party girl. These are the four members of RWBY, a team brought together and trained at the legendary Beacon Academy. Together they will combat the monstrous evils that plague the world of Remnant. RWBY is perfect for fans of shoujo manga and magical girl anime.

 

Tablet Gaming
Fridays, 4:30 – 6:30 p.m., Ages 13-18
March 14, April 11
Get ready for puzzles, platforms and jump-scares playing tablet games like Slender Rising, Badlands and Eyes. Registration is required. Click here to register.

 

After-School Skylanders
Thursdays, 4:30 – 6 p.m., Ages 10-15
March 20, April 17, May 22
Play as teams in Survival Mode or face-off against other Portal Masters in Battle Arenas. You can also practice for Skylanders tournaments. Please bring your own Skylander figures if there’s a specific character you want to play. Registration is required. Click here to register.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

**If you need assistance in the library, ask us! We’re happy to help. If you require ADA accommodations for a Library program or event, please notify the Library office at least two weeks in advance at 630/393-1171 x118.

 

** Attendance at Library programs and events constitutes consent to be photographed for Library publicity purposes.

 

 

Bracelet Looming Fun 
Friday, March 21, 3:30 – 5:30 p.m., Ages 7 – 14
Saturday, April 5, 10 a.m. – noon, Ages 7 – 14
Drop in and make some colorful bracelets. Bring your own loom and hook or use one of ours. We will provide the bands. Learn how to make a new design or show us one of your own designs.

 

Skylanders Tournament
Fridays, 4:30 – 6 p.m., Ages 10-15
March 28, May 16
Challenge other gamers and put your Skylanders to the test. The tournament winner will receive a gift card. Please make sure to bring your own Skylander figure if there’s a specific character you want to play. Registration is required. Click here to register.

 

Mario Kart
Wednesday, April 2, 2 – 4 p.m., Ages 8-13
This Spring Break, go on a road trip with Mario Kart Wii. Registration is required. Click here to register.

 

Dungeon Roll
Thursday, April 3, 5 – 7 p.m., Ages 12-17
The Dungeon lies before you. Collect the most experience points by defeating monsters, battling the dragon and amassing treasure. How far will you go to seek glory and fame? Will you risk losing everything? Dungeon Roll is a quick dice game ideal for fans of Dungeons & Dragons or Magic: The Gathering. Registration is required. Click here to register.

 

Free Comic Book Day
Saturday, May 3, All Ages
Free Comic Book Day is a day when participating comic book shops, libraries and schools across North America and around the world give away comic books absolutely free to anyone who comes into their stores. The Library will have comic books available for all ages – kids, teens and adults. Be sure to stop by the Information Desk and pick up your free comic book while supplies last.

 

Zombies 101
Thursday, May 1, 6 – 7:30 p.m., Ages 12-17
May is Zombie Awareness Month. See if you have what it takes to survive an unanticipated uprising. Learn how to prevent and fend off zombies before it’s too late. Registration is required. Click here to register.

 

 

 

 

 

#